You are here: Home Projects The Guantánamo Testimonials Project Testimonies Testimonies of FBI Agents Testimonies of FBI Agents
Document Actions

Testimonies of FBI Agents

Image of FBI

 

 




 

                                                      
"Those guys were using techniques that we didn't even want to be in the room for," one senior federal law enforcement official said. "The CIA determined they were going to torture people, and we made the decision not to be involved." (FBI working to bolster Al Qaeda cases. By Josh Meyer. Los Angeles Times, October 21, 2007).
 

In response to a Freedom of Information Act request filed by the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) on October 7, 2003, the United States Government released documents detailing abuse of detainees held oversees. The documents filled more than 100,000 pages, many of them heavily redacted (see ACLU et al. v. Department of Defense et al., No. 04-cv-4151 (AKH)(S.D.N.Y. 2004). The original complaint is available here.

As of January 10, 2007, the FBI provided over 800 of these documents. Of these, over 500 pertain to Guantánamo. The UCDavis Center for the Study of Human Rights in the Americas has combed through these documents, lifted from them all the testimonies of abuse it could find, organized them by type, and listed them below.

To download the entire document from which a particular testimony has been lifted, click on the citation at the end of the testimony in question (citations at the ends of testimonies name the pages from which the testimonies have been lifted). Alternatively, you may download the original document here.

You may also search through the entire ACLU collection of Government Documents on Torture here.

To see a few particularly revealing documents, please click on the following links:

Prompted by these testimonies, the Inspector General of the Department of Justice issued A Review of the FBI's Involvement in and Observations of Detainee Interrogations in Guantanamo Bay, Afghanistan, and Iraq. CSHRA has analyzed this document here.



Physical Abuse

 

(FBI011) [REDACTED] advised that on the second interview, [REDACTED] kept him in the interview room for approximately seven hours and turned the air conditioner down cold to make him freeze (DOJFBI003287).

 

(FBI013) The treatment of prisoners at Camp Delta was also a topic of discussion. [REDACTED] claimed that detainees were often put in freezing cold isolation cells with no blankets for days at a time. He also stated that they (the detainees) are only given the equivalent of 12 hours of exercise per year. [REDACTED] also said that guards often beat the detainees when they search their cells […] [REDACTED] thought that the rumors of a mass suicide in the Camp are true, and that the US could prevent it if we treated the detainees better (DOJFBI003313).

 

(FBI014) [REDACTED] complained about detainee treatment by the guards. [REDACTED] stated he had heard a detainee had been severely beaten by a guard and had died. [REDACTED] advised he heard the altercation between the detainee and the guards began when the guards disrespected the Koran (DOJFBI003316).

 

(FBI015) After being interviewed by the two females, he was taken to the “dark place.” At the “dark place,” a hood was placed over his head and he was yelled at and beaten. [REDACTED] stated that because of this treatment at the hands of his captors he provided the interrogators with whatever information that they wanted to hear (DOJFBI003323).

 

(FBI016) [REDACTED] claimed that when he was first captured, he was tortured by those asking him questions. He had to stand up for five days straight and answer questions. He was also forced to strip naked and stand in front of a female interrogator (DOJFBI003335).

 

(FBI023) While in captivity at the original detention camp in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, [REDACTED] was beaten by U.S. Military Police Officers without justification. A full account of that beating has been provided in previous interviews (DOJFBI003431).

 

(FBI026) The detainees have various problems with the guards at Camp Delta. The guards use foul language. They play loud music [ILLEGIBLE] at night, making it difficult for the detainees to sleep. The guards [REDACTED] respect for the detainees or for Islam. Sometimes, the guards deny water for the detainees (DOJFBI003490).

 

(FBI037) [REDACTED] advised that he has pain in his right leg. He is in [REDACTED] cell block next to [REDACTED]. The guards were teasing the detainees and because of the noise they were making he was beaten in the leg and mouth […] An individual in cell [REDACTED] tried to commit suicide by hanging himself (DOJFBI003396).

 

(FBI047) Sometime in the second or third week of February 2004, [REDACTED] was taken to reservation [= interrogation] ([REDACTED] was on both FBI and NAE hold) He did not recognize the interviewers and when he told them he didn’t want to speak to anyone unless they were introduced by his regular interrogators, he was yelled at for 25 minutes [REDACTED] was short shackled, the room temperature was significantly lowered, strobe lights were used, and possibly loud music. There were two male interrogators, one stood behind him and the other in front They yelled at him and told him he was never leaving here The interrogator tried to get [REDACTED] to identify photos After the initial 25 minutes of yelling, [REDACTED] was left alone in the room in this condition for approximately 12 hours At one point the interrogator came back in the afternoon to make sure he was still there During the 12 hours [REDACTED] was not permitted to eat, pray or use the bathroom (DOJFBI002277 or Responses, Part IV, 214, where the following annotation can be found: "No | -consistent w/DoD policy | -not nice, but not abusive | -consistent with DoD policy).

 

(FBI048) 5/22/02. [REDACTED] stated he had been beaten unconscious approximately three or four weeks ago when we was still at Camp X-Ray. According to [REDACTED], an unknown number of guards entered his cell, unprovoked, and started spitting and cursing at him. The guards called him a “son of a bitch” and a “bastard” then told him he was crazy. | [REDACTED] rolled onto his stomach to protect himself [REDACTED] stated a soldier named [REDACTED] jumped on his back and started beating him in the face. [REDACTED] then choked him until he passed out. [REDACTED] stated that [REDACTED] was beating him because [REDACTED] is a Muslim, and [REDACTED] is Christian. [REDACTED] indicated there was a female guard named [REDACTED] who was also beating him and grabbed his head and beat it into the cell floor. | [REDACTED] stated that all the soldiers were aware of his [REDACTED] and he was taken to the hospital following the beating where he received an IV treatment for his facial wounds. [REDACTED] claimed the camp warden, who is a tall African American male, visited him at the hospital and told the doctors to immediately return him to the camp. [REDACTED] reported the aforementioned incident to two Red Cross representatives at Camp Delta […] [REDACTED] stated he did not do anything to cause the guards to enter his cell, and did everything they instructed him to do. [REDACTED] had what appeared to be a recent wound on the bridge of his nose (DOJFBI003209 or DOJFBI002308 or Responses, Part III, 166).

 

(FBI050) On a couple of occasions, I entered interview rooms to find a detainee chained hand and foot in a fetal position to the floor, with no chair, food, or water Most times they had urinated or defecated on themselves, and had been left there for 18, 24 hours or more On one occasion, the air conditioning had been turned down so far and the temperature was so cold in the room that the barefooted detainee was shaking with cold When I asked the MP’s what was going on, I was told that interrogators from the day prior had ordered this treatment, and the detainee was not to be moved On another occasion the A/C had been turned off, making the temperature in the unventilated room probably well over 100 degrees The detainee was almost unconscious on the floor, with a pile of hair next to him He had apparently been literally pulling his own hair out throughout the night On another occasion, not only was the temperature unbearably hot, but extremely loud rap music was being played in the room, and had been since the day before, with the detainee chained hand and foot in the fetal position on the floor (DOJFBI002345).

 

(FBI056) On 04/06/2002 [REDACTED], detained at Guantanamo Bay (GTMO) Naval Base […] advised that the Military Police (MP’s), named [REDACTED] have been mistreating the detainees by pushing them around and throwing their waste bucket to them in the cell, sometimes with waste still in the bucket and kicking the Koran. He also noted that in Muslim culture, people do not get dressed, shower, or use the bathroom in front of others; however, they are being forced to do so […] | He is aware that other detainees feel that they would rather die than live the way they are living and he has heard an unknown detainee say “Death before I live like this” (DOJFBI3190).

 

(FBI058) [REDACTED] further stated that while he was not abused while in the custody of the military, he was, on occasion, pushed to the ground while his hands were handcuffed behind his back (DOJFBI003242).

 

(FBI060) [REDACTED] advised that he is dissatisfied with the treatment the detainees are receiving by U.S. military personnel that are assigned to Camp Delta. [REDACTED] advised he and others have been “beaten, spit upon and treated worse than a dog”. [REDACTED] elaborated on the fact that the U.S. Military Canine (guard dog) receives better care than the detainees. [REDACTED] could not provide details pertaining to alleged beatings administered by the U.S. Military personnel (DOJFBI003266).

 

(FBI085) When asked how he [the detainee] has been mistreated, [REDACTED] replied he felt like an animal having to be moved in chains […] (DOJFBI003302).

 

(FBI073) When asked about [REDACTED] [he] advised that he only made that statement because he was being beaten (DOJFBI003421).

 

(FBI039) July 14, 2004 | Major General Donald J. Ryder | Department of the Army | Criminal Investigation Command | 6010 6th Street | Fort Belvour, Virginia 22060-5506 | Re: Suspected Mistreatment of Detainees | Dear General Ryder: | I appreciate the opportunity I had to meet with you last week. As part of a follow up on our discussion on detainee treatment, I would like to alert you to three situations observed by agents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of highly aggressive interrogation techniques being used against detainees in Guantanamo (GTMO). I refer them to you for appropriate action. | 1. During late 2002, FBI Special Agent [REDACTED] was present in an observation room at GTMO and observed [REDACTED] (first name unknown) [REDACTED] conducting an interrogation of an unknown detainee. (SA [REDACTED] was present to observe the interrogation occurring in a different interrogation room. [REDACTED] entered the observation room and complained that curtain movement at the observation window was distracting the detainee, although no movement of the curtain had occurred. She directed a marine to duct tape a curtain over the two-way mirror between the interrogation room and the observation room. SA [REDACTED] characterized this action as an attempt to prohibit those in the observation room from witnessing her interaction with the detainee. Through the surveillance camera monitor, SA [REDACTED] then observed [REDACTED] position herself between the detainee and the surveillance camera. The detainee was shackled and his hands were cuffed to his waist. SA [REDACTED] observed [REDACTED] apparently whispering in the detainee's ear, and caressing and applying lotion to his arms (this was during Ramadan when physical contact with a woman would have been particularly offensive to a Moslem male). On more than one occasion the detainee appeared to be grimacing in pain, and [REDACTED]s hands appeared to be making some contact with the detainee. Although SA [REDACTED] could not see her hands at all times, he saw them moving towards the detainee’s lap He also observed the detainee pulling away and against the restraints. Subsequently, the marine who had previously taped the curtain and had been in the interrogation room with [REDACTED] during the interrogation re-entered the observation room. SA [REDACTED] asked what had happened to cause the detainee grimace in pain. The marine said [REDACTED] had grabbed the detainee’s thumbs and bent them backwards and indicated that she also grabbed his genitals. The marine also implied that her treatment of that detainee was less harsh than her treatment of others by indicating that he had seen her treatment of other detainees result in detainees curling into a fetal position on the floor and crying in pain […] | Sincerely yours, | T J Harrington | Deputy Assistant Director | Counterterrorism Division (DOJFBI001914. See also DOJFBI002181, FBI041, FBI087, and FBI088).

 

(FBI087) July 14, 2004 | Major General Donald J. Ryder | Department of the Army | Criminal Investigation Command | 6010 6th Street | Fort Belvour, Virginia 22060-5506 | Re: Suspected Mistreatment of Detainees | Dear General Ryder: | I appreciate the opportunity I had to meet with you last week. As part of a follow up on our discussion on detainee treatment, I would like to alert you to three situations observed by agents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of highly aggressive interrogation techniques being used against detainees in Guantanamo (GTMO). I refer them to you for appropriate action. | […] 2. Also in October 2002, FBI Special Agent [REDACTED] was observing the interrogation of a detainee when [REDACTED] a civilian contractor, came into the observation room and asked SA [REDACTED] to come see something. SA [REDACTED] then saw an unknown bearded, long-haired detainee in another interrogation room [REDACTED] [= whose mouth had been duct taped? See FBI41 and FBI78] SA [REDACTED] asked Mr [REDACTED] whether the detainee had spit at the interrogators Mr [REDACTED] laughed and stated that the detainee had been chanting the Koran and would not stop. Mr [REDACTED] did not answer when SA [REDACTED] asked [REDACTED] […] | Sincerely yours, | T J Harrington | Deputy Assistant Director | Counterterrorism Division (DOJFBI001914-DOJFBI001916. See also DOJFBI002181, FBI39, FBI041, and FBI088).

 

(FBI041) [In a document outlining FBI knowledge of prisoner abuse in Iraq, Guantanamo, and Afghanistan, the following is given under the heading Guantanamo Bay:

 

  • There have been differences of opinion between FBI and portions of DoD on the desirability of  using certain interrogation techniques on the detainees at Guantanamo. The difference of opinion was based partly on differing assessments of the efficacy of harsh interrogation techniques as compared to rapport building techniques, and in part on differing views on the propriety of the harsher techniques.

 

  • Prior to the promulgation of new guidelines, one or more agents observed the following:
        • a detainee's mouth was duct taped for chanting from the Koran; detainee had long hair and a beard; military employee who applied the duct tape found it amusing;
        • an interrogator attempted to block the observation window of an interrogation cell and then rubbed the detainee’s arm (this interrogation occurred during Ramadan at a time when contact with an unrelated female is particularly offensive for Islamic men) and did something that could not be observed but that appeared to cause the detainee substantial pain; and
        • a detainee being isolated for substantial periods of time.

 

 

 

 

  • Agents heard of detainees being subjected to considerable pain and very aggressive techniques during interrogations.

 

  • Agents aware of detainees being threatened (either in person or aurally) by dogs.

 

  • Agents have seen documentary evidence that a detainee was told that his family had been taken into custody and would be moved to Morocco for interrogation if he did not begin to talk.

 

  • Agents aware of military screaming in ear of detainee and “manhandling” detainees (e.g. knocking chair from under detainee).

 

  • Agents aware of military misrepresenting themselves as FBI when dealing with detainee.

 

  • In order to know the entire scope of FBI knowledge of treatment of detainees at GTMO, approximately 500 agents would need to be interviewed (DOJFBI001937-DOJFBI001939. See also FBI039, FBI087, FBI088).

 

(FBI078) [REDACTED] was not with [REDACTED] when he observed the detainee who had been duct taped (DOJFBI003548; possibly the same case described in FBI041).

 

(FBI092) In late October 2002, FBI Special Agent [REDACTED] was observing the interrogation of a detainee when [REDACTED] a civilian army contractor, who was in charge of the Army's interrogators, came into the observation room and asked SA [REDACTED] to come see something, SA [REDACTED] then saw an unknown bearded, long-haired detainee in another interrogation room. The detainee had been gagged with duct tape that covered much of his head. SA [REDACTED] asked Mr. [REDACTED] whether the detainee had spit at the interrogators. Mr. [REDACTED] laughed and stated that the detainee had been chanting the Koran and would not stop. Mr. [REDACTED] did not answer when SA [REDACTED] asked how the duct tape would be removed from the detainee. | In September or October 2002 FBI agents [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] observed that a canine was used in an aggressive manner to intimidate detainee # [REDACTED] (Responses, Part I, 35. See also FBI087).

 

(FBI097) From [REDACTED] (CTD)(FBI) | Sent: Wednesday, July 14, 2004 2:58 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: RE: GTMO | Yes. There was an incident of observation of a detainee in a 'stress position'. This was within the regs of military techniques but outside MIOG (No Bureau personnel involved). That was the limit of direct observations. In terms of knowledge of 'mistreatment' I can speak to that in great detail from formal meetings which I attended and informal discussions with DoD personnel. BC (Responses, Part II, 60).

 

(FBI099) [REDACTED] described his 15 month TDY assignment at GTMO as a Case Agent tasked to participate in detainee interviews […] during the summer of 2002, [REDACTED] walked into a Camp Delta observation room and noticed a detainee in an interview room rubbing his leg due to possibly being placed in a stress position. The detainee was wearing leg irons and was handcuffed with cuffs chained to his waist. [REDACTED] advised the chains were adjusted to force the detainee to stand in a "baseball catcher" position. The detainee was being questioned by two military officers. […] | According to [REDACTED], the FBI questioned detainee # [REDACTED] for approximately two months with negative results. The military then moved detainee # [REDACTED] to Camp X-Ray. General Geoff Miller requested permission to utilize "special interrogative techniques" on detainee # [REDACTED][i]| During December 2002, Lieutenant [REDACTED], Nurse, U.S. Navy, informed [REDACTED] that detainee # [REDACTED] had been admitted to the base hospital for hypothermia. During a daily staff meeting, [REDACTED] inquired about detainee # [REDACTED] being admitted to the hospital for hypothermia. Lieutenant Colonel [REDACTED] advised [REDACTED] that detainee # [REDACTED] was not diagnosed with hypothermia. [REDACTED] told [REDACTED] that detainee # [REDACTED] had low blood pressure along with low body core temperature (Responses, Part II, 62f).

 

(FBI101) Sometime near the end of his tour at GITMO, when he was partnered with the military intelligence soldier [described above], SA [REDACTED] and the soldier were conducting an evening interview of an Iraqi detainee who had been apprehended in Afghanistan. During the interview, SA [REDACTED] and the soldier heard banging sounds similar to claps of thunder, but were perplexed by the sounds since there had not been any indication of rain when they entered the interviewing facility. They decided to exit the facility to investigate the sounds. | As SA [REDACTED] and the other soldier were exiting the interviewing facility, they noticed a detainee on the floor in another interviewing room, "crumpled over," and crying. SA [REDACTED] asked the personnel in the interviewing room, all of whom appeared to be military personnel based on their uniforms, what had happened. SA [REDACTED] recalled that the military personnel may have responded that the detainee had thrown himself to the floor. SA [REDACTED] observed that the detainee's nose appeared to be bleeding. SA [REDACTED] did not see or hear anything else about the incident that disputed the account offered by the military personnel present in the room. SA [REDACTED] did note that when he exited the facility, there was no indication of thunder outside. The lack of thunder caused him to wonder about the noises he had heard (Responses, Part II, 71f).

(FBI102) [REDACTED] traveled to GTMO in February 2002, to debrief a detainee identified as [REDACTED] regarding case specific information on the "Portland 7" Counterterrorism matter. […] as a Co-case Agent of the Portland 7 case, [REDACTED] went to GTMO for the sole purpose of conducting one interview relating to that case. | The interview was conducted in a make-shift plywood shack used for conducting interviews, located adjacent to the "Dog Cages" in Camp X-Ray. When the detainee was brought in for the interview, [REDACTED] observed the detainee had a black eye, facial cuts around the nose area, and his fingers on both hands were taped up. The detainee, who spoke English, said words to the effect that "they", motioning to the Military Police (MP) guards, had done this to him. A Colonel in charge of the MPs, whose name [REDACTED] could not recall, advised that the detainee's injuries were sustained in a scuffle due to the detainee becoming non-compliant and had to be brought into compliance by a Rapid Response Team. The detainee also had a cast on one of his ankles which was for an injury sustained prior to the detainee's arrival at GTMO (Responses, Part II, 82).

 

(FBI103) [REDACTED] ISN [REDACTED] an Afghan male, was interviewed at Guantanamo Bay Naval Station […] provided the following information: | [REDACTED] complained of being mistreated by US forces while in detention in Bagram and during his transit to Camp Delta. [REDACTED] pointed to marks on his wrists that he claimed were caused by the shackles. Additionally, [REDACTED] claimed that he was upset by having to wear a hood while in transit and that guards did not respond to a pain in his ear. Further, [REDACTED] alleged that the guards beat him. While in transit, [REDACTED] informed the translator of his ills and was told that a doctor would see him later (Responses, Part III, 162).

 

(FBI105) [REDACTED] Photographer (Scientific and Technical) of the Special Photographic Unit, Laboratory Division, was assigned to rephotograph the detainee's [sic] for new mug shots on several days and two travel assignments from March 11 to March 16 during 2004 and June 10 to 17, 2004. | During the first assignment, on March 12, 2004 detainee [REDACTED] FBI number [REDACTED] ISN number [REDACTED] was photographed and Major Case printed at 4:36 PM. It was observed that [REDACTED] had blood shot eyes with slight swelling around his left eye. After reviewing the photographs what appears to be blood that congealed to his eyelashes was found. No observation was made as to how this condition came about, and no comments where [sic] heard from any Army personal [sic] regarding aggressive treatment towards the detainee […] I have personally reviewed my work from both assignments and not seen any other questionable images (Responses, Part III, 176f).[ii]

 

(FBI108) From: [REDACTED] (IP)(FBI) | Sent: Friday, July 09, 2004 5:19PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | […] | Subject: GTMO Detainee Treatment | I was TDY in Guantanamo from February 10 to March 27, 2003. While there, I heard through the usual rumor mill (other agents, military counterparts) about a technique used by military interrogators which was not allowed to be used by Agents. The technique was to leave a detainee shackled in an interrogation room for an extended period of time, twelve hours or more, and either turn the air conditioner to its lowest possible temperature or off. Supposedly, the detainees were not removed from the rooms even to relieve themselves. This was only used for the difficult detainees who would not cooperate. | One day while I was in one of the interrogation buildings, I was in one of the observation rooms which looked into two interrogation rooms. I was in this room because the detainee I was interviewing was in one of the interrogation room [sic] observed from this room. Laying [sic] on the floor of the other interrogation room was a detainee. I believe this detainee was subject to the above mentioned extended stay in the interrogation room. | The detainee did not appeared distressed. The detainee may possibly have been asleep. He was dressed in the normal detainee jumpsuit. His leg shackles were attached to the I-bolt in the center of the interrogation room floor as per SOP [= Standard Operating Procedure]. I do not recall if the detainee was or was not wearing handcuffs. I do not recall observing any furniture in the room on which the detainee could sit. The detainee did not appear to have soiled himself and I did not observe any fluid around the detainee. | I do not know how long the detainee was in the room prior to my viewing him or how long he remained there after I saw him. I do not know what the temperature of the interrogation room was or if the air conditioning was on or off […] My full bureau name is: [REDACTED] | Position: Special Agent (Responses, Part III, 181).[iii]

 

(FBI109) From: [REDACTED] (WF) (FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 9:52 AM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Subject: GTMO | I have been assigned to GTMO since October 2003 on a one year TDY. I have observed interview techniques not consistent with Bureau interview policy, but in compliance with Department of Defense, DOD policy. I have not taken part in any interview where these techniques were allowed, but have only observed. | The details of these interviews consist of, short shackling to the floor, cold temperatures, loud music, strobe lights and left in interrogation room for long periods of time. Again, this was consistent with DOD policy not FBI policy (Responses, Part III, 201).[iv]

 

(FBI113) From [REDACTED] (KX)(FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 9:28 AM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Subject: GTMO | I worked at GTMO from June through August of 2002. During that period I observed one incident in an interrogation room which was contrary to Bureau interview policy / guidelines. I observed a detainee in a darkened interrogation room shackled to the bolt on the floor in a kneeling position. The room was completely dark and there was a flashing strobe light placed in front of the detainee and a stereo was playing loud music in the room. I observed a male interrogator outside the room during the time frame that I observed this activity. The interrogator was wearing a BDU uniform with no unit patches or name tags on the uniform so I have no idea what agency he worked for; however, I never observed any FBI personel [sic] involved in this interrogation that I described (Responses, Part IV, 212).[v]

 

(FBI114) From [REDACTED] (SE)(FBI) | Sent: Sunday, July 11, 2004 3:29 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Subject: GTMO | I am responding via e-mail because I was aware of a practice of interrogating detainees which I did not feel was appropriate. During my short TDY at GTMO in July 2002, I took part in some discussions about a practice which had been utilized in which the detainee would be placed in the interview room approximately 6-8 hours prior to the scheduled interview. The air conditioning in the room would be turned down to as low as 55 degrees. It was common practice to have the detainees restricted from movement with handcuffs, legcuffs, and a chain bolted to the floor, which would prevent them from moving around the room, which in this case would prevent them from adjusting the air conditioning temperature. | My interview team did not participate in this practice, but I vaguely recall seeing detainees in rooms by themselves in conditions which I believed included uncomfortably cold environments. There were occasions when our interview team would show up for an interview and the temperature in the room was uncomfortably cold. However, the detainee was rarely in the room for any length of time before the interview and we would immediately turn the air conditioning temperature to a comfortable level. I brought the topic up to the Marine Corps JAG assigned to us and they actually began to discourage this practice, not necessarily because of my efforts, but others that agreed with my veiws [sic] as well (Responses, Part IV, 213).[vi]

 

(FBI115) From: [REDACTED] (CG) (FBI) | Sent: Friday, July 09, 2004 5:32 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Subject: RE: GTMO | […] I briefly observed the following in early April of 2004: Attempts were being made by NAE to debrief [REDACTED]. [REDACTED] refused to speak or interact with the interrogators in any way. I believe [REDACTED] was kept in an interrogation room for approximately 15 hours, short-shackled, with strobe lights and possibly music. My actions: Because it was my understanding that, at that time, all of these techniques were permitted per DOD, I did not report this (Responses, Part IV, 215).[vii]

 

(FBI118) Official Bureau name: [REDACTED] | Title: Special Agent | Tenure of Assignment at GTMO: 45 days (July-August 2002) | With the exception of fluctuations in room temperature controls by military personnel, captioned writer did not observe any aggressive treatment towards detainees during his tour of duty (Responses, Part IV, 238).

 

(FBI122) From: [REDACTED] (PX)(FBI) | Sent: Wednesday, July 14, 2004 12:23 AM | TO: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | SUBJECT: RE: GTMO | On one morning my partner from OSI went into the observation room accross [sic] the hall from our interrogation room to get a chair. While in there he called me in. In one of the other interrogation rooms was a detainee sitting in a chair alone in the room. The glass/2 way mirror was very warm to the touch, as if the room temp. was high in the interrogation room. The detainee appeared to be sleeping in the chair. | The next day while getting a chair in the observation room I observed what appeared to be the same detainee in the same room. The window felt very cool that morning, as if the room temp. was low. Again the detainee was alone and appeared to be sleeping in the room (Responses, Part IV, 255).

 

(FBI123) From: [REDACTED] (LR)(FBI) | Sent: Friday, July 09, 2004 3:59 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: GTMO assignment | I was assigned to GTMO [REDACTED] in 7/23 - 8/22/02. While I did not observe any mistreatment of detainees and did not participate in any interviews, I did become aware that the interview rooms were kept pretty cold and that the interviewees were kept in those rooms for extended periods of time. | Additionally, [REDACTED] one detainee was kept in the cell in isolation for an extended period of time, I think up to 30 days. | Are these considered violations of "Bureau interview policy / guidelines?" (Responses, Part IV, 258).

 

(FBI125) [REDACTED] was asked if he liked Americans and responded "of course." (Arabic translator advised that the response was sarcastic). [REDACTED] further elaborated, why wouldn't someone like someone who had treated him badly on the way to Guantanamo Bay and hit him. When asked about details regarding the hitting and if Americans had done so, [REDACTED] did not want to discuss the topic anymore (DOJFBI003377).

 

(FBI126) [REDACTED] stated that many of the detainees were being mistreated. Some were being brought into interrogations, late at night, and beaten. [REDACTED] said that he was not personally aware of this, but it is common knowledge among the detainees. [REDACTED] showed the interviewers his chest and stomach by lifting up his shirt. [REDACTED] appeared to claim that he had been beaten. There was no visible sign of injury. When asked about details, [REDACTED] reverted back to the fact that he wanted a phone call (DOJFBI003400).

 

See also FBI008, FBI038, FBI070, FBI074, FBI091, FBI093.

 

 

Sexual Abuse

 

(FBI017) [REDACTED] stated that the tactics being used by the interviewing teams at night were inhumane and degrading. When asked about the specifics of what was happening at night, [REDACTED] would not elaborate except to say that pornographic pictures were being displayed (DOJFBI003342).

 

(FBI021) [REDACTED] explained he heard that female interrogators were sexually assaulting the detainees. […] He said that during an interrogation he was told that if he did not tell the truth, then “things” would be done to him. He was questioned about UBL [= Usama Bin Laden] and swearing a bayat (oath) to him. [REDACTED] said he denied that he swore an oath to UBL [REDACTED] The following day, he was taken to medical and handcuffed to the bed with a hood over his head. A female came into the room and started to rub her chest on him. She removed his pants and fondled his private [sic] with her hand until he was erect. She then raped him. He was told “the next time it will be a man”. After this he told the interrogators that he made the oath to UBL. He also started to complain of being tortured in Bagram (DOJFBI003418).

 

(FBI084) [REDACTED] did say that two detainees have recently complained of being sexually assaulted in the interview rooms. [REDACTED] did not say who the detainees were but did say that they were embarrassed because an interrogator had pulled their trousers down during the interview and sexually assaulted that individual. [REDACTED] felt that such practices ‘might create a new terrorist.’ (DOJFBI003371).

 

(FBI070) [REDACTED] did agree to talk with SA’s [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] in detail about four subjects concerning Camp Delta. | The first subject involves the possible rapes of more than one detainee by either a military guard or interviewer. The rapes occurred about three or four days ago during a 1:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. shift. [REDACTED] does not believe the rapes are a ‘gay’ issue, but a form of torture. The detainees have made a pact to bring this rape subject up at every future interview. | The second subject involves detainees being searched in the groin area and being touched sexually by male guards in interview rooms. | The third subject involves the possible suicide of a Saudi detainee named [REDACTED] three months ago in isolation. Several of the detainees believe that [REDACTED] was being raped and beaten by the military guards. [REDACTED] has heard the official story that the guards went into the cell to keep [REDACTED] from committing suicide. [REDACTED] wonders why [REDACTED] was bleeding when he was taken to the hospital, where he still remains. | The fourth subject involves the punishment of shaving the hair and beards of detainees […] [REDACTED] believes the military guards started shaving the beards and hair of detainees because the searching of a detainee’s Koran backfired and was not effective (DOJFBI003341).

 

(FBI080) Last evening I went to observe an interview of [REDACTED] with [REDACTED]. The adjoining room, observable from the monitoring booth, was occupied by 2 DHS [= Defense Human Intelligence Service] investigators showing a detainee homosexual porn movies and using a strobe light in the room. We moved our interview to a different room! We've heard that DHS interrogators routinely identify themselves as FBI Agents and then interrogate a detainee for 16 - 18 hours using tactics as described above and others (wrapping in Israeli flag, constant loud music, cranking the A/C down, etc.). The next time a real Agent tries to talk to that guy, you can imagine the result (DOJFBI3584 or DOJFBI3596).

 

(FBI111) Occasionally, during interview sessions, detainees complained of inappropriate behavior by military personnel. Such complaints were incorporated into interview FD-302s per instructions of Bureau management. An example of such a report can be found in 315N-MM-C99102-AA40, serial 15, in which a detainee alleged a female guard removed her blouse and, while pressing her body against a shackled and restrained detainee from behind, handled his genitalia and wiped menstrual blood on his head and face as a form of punishment for lack of cooperation. The detainee stated this person returned from the interrogation with blood visible on his face and head (Responses, Part III, 206f).[viii]

 

(FBI112) [An Egyptian prisoner] was interviewed at Camp Delta, United States Naval Base Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, by Special Agents [REDACTED] of the Federal Bureau of Investigation and [REDACTED] of the United States Army Criminal Investigations Division […] [REDACTED] said he has found all interrogators to be liars. He does not trust them. He gave an example of the behavior of Americans. A detainee returned from and interrogation with blood on his face and head. He said a female interrogator, after not getting cooperation from him, called four guards into the room. While the guards held him, she removed her blouse, embraced the detainee from behind and put her hands on his genitals. The interrogator was on her menstrual period and she wiped blood from her body on his face and head. He said he asked one guard "Why do you hate me?" The guard responded, "If I could, I would kill you." (Responses, Part III, 209 and Responses, Part IV, 210).

 

See also FBI016, FBI039, FBI041, FBI094, FBI096, FBI100, FBI120.

 

 

Medical Abuse

 

(FBI031) [REDACTED] was prescribed physical therapy [REDACTED] but he felt that he was not getting the therapy he was prescribed. [REDACTED] generally was not taking advantage of the recreation time afforded him at the camp. [REDACTED] felt that his human rights were being violated and that he should be represented by an attorney. [REDACTED] did not like his treatment, and felt he and others were being treated like slaves (DOJFBI003291).

 

(FBI083) [REDACTED] complained about treatment he has received for his leg injuries. He does not feel the Americans are giving him proper treatment for his injuries (DOJFBI002872).

 

(FBI089) I observed the following in early April 2004 [REDACTED] was being debriefed for several hours (approximately 15 hours) by NAE Throughout the session, [REDACTED] periodically threw up in a trash can At the time, I was told he had an ulcer and that the stress was irritating it I was later advised he had a stomach virus I was told he had been given a shot of Motrin (or something like that) by the medical staff Due in part to the fact that [REDACTED] was present and did not object to the situation, and I never heard [REDACTED] asked to be returned to his cell or request medical assistance, I took no action [signed:] Thanks, LL (DOJFBI002279 or Responses, Part IV, 214f).

 

See also FBI048, FBI099, FBI103.

 

 

Legal Abuse

 

(FBI012) [REDACTED] had heard that 40-50 detainees had intended to commit suicide after Ramadan ended because they were tired of being detained with no prospect of being released and they were tired of being mistreated by the guards (DOJFBI003297).

 

(FBI025) [REDACTED] believes he was sold to AF [=Afghanistan] soldiers for a bounty/reward (DOJFBI003488).

 

(FBI030) [REDACTED] stated that he has been in prison for nine months and no one can prove he committed any crime. [REDACTED] claimed he was mistreated by U.S. Army Military Police soldiers during a recent cell block search. [REDACTED] claimed the Americans were holding his incoming mail. [REDACTED] was defiant and asked agents to kill him (DOJFBI003277).

 

(FBI032) [REDACTED] indicated resentment towards the United States due to his detention in Cuba for many months. The stress of being incarcerated for a long period of time, with no answers concerning his status has caused him mental anguish (DOJFBI003317).

 

(FBI040) From [REDACTED] | To [REDACTED] | Date: 1/21/04 5:15PM | Subject: Fwd: Re: Impersonating FBI | When I was in the unit in December, I thought we agreed to take everything out of EC [= electronic communication?] that doesn’t specifically pertain to the “impersonation” issue. All of that other information (including our suggestion that the detainee was threatened [REDACTED] is still there, which I think is totally inappropriate. | Regarding the “impersonation”, I’m still not sure what our issue is here. It’s fairly clear to me that the “FBI Agent” wasn’t successful in gaining the detainees cooperation. Thereafter, (months later) [REDACTED] carried the day with his ruse regarding [REDACTED] Once again, the techniques specifically called into question in the EC were employed months after, and in a different environment from, the “FBI Agent” ruse. (DOJFBI001923).

 

(FBI061) The mental condition of the detainees is to the point where the detainees are all participating in a hunger strike. The detainees are upset with the way they are treated by the guards. They are upset because they are being held as prisoners without being charged with a crime or released. The detainees think America is intentionally keeping people in custody for no reason other than an attack on Muslims. The detainees are going to strike by not changing their clothes, not eating food, and not drinking water more than absolutely necessary. If one person starts a strike then all of the men will follow. | In the last six days, [REDACTED] has not taken more than three ounces of water per day. He has not eaten in six days. He has not changed his clothes in a week. He wanted to be charged with a crime or released. He wants to be charged with a crime or released. In [REDACTED] it would not take this long to investigate the innocent people. | According to the detainees, some of the guards are telling the detainees that while they are sitting in a cell in Cuba, American [s]oldiers are having sex with the detainee's mothers. According to the detainees, some of the guards are physically cruel to the detainees. [REDACTED] has not personally heard these comments from the guards. He has not seen any cruelty by the guards. However, sometimes the guards are a little rough with him even though he is cooperative. | The detainees are extremely upset with the treatment they receive from the guards. The guards are treating the detainees like animals. The guards treat their dogs better than the detainees. The detainees feel the guards treat their dogs better than the detainees. | There is talk amongst the detainees that an unknown number of detainees are going to commit suicide for the purpose of protesting the treatment at Camp Delta and to protest keeping innocent men at Camp Delta. These suicides will cause the people in the Middle East to solidify their anger against America (DOJFBI003267).

 

(FBI062) [REDACTED] did request legal counsel, at which point the interviewers explained that, under his current conditions, he was not entitled to legal counsel (DOJFBI003302).

 

(FBI067) [REDACTED] advised that he has been detained for a long time and the Americans should know the guilt or innocence of every detainee by now. He further noted that he understands America's reaction to 9/11 because it was something new; however the treatment at Guantanamo Bay is unbearable. [REDACTED] advised it was worse than Hitler's treatment of the Jews (DOJFBI003966).

 

See also FBI41.

 

 

Psychological Abuse

 

(FBI002) An isolation unit would be utilized for serious violators of camp regulations. All rewards and punishment are to be based on camp behavior and cooperation with investigators. Rewards that may be given to detainees include cold water and the ability to store food in their cells [….] said he experienced punishment at the camp on one prior occasion about a month ago […] He was placed in the isolation unit. | As you may be aware, I was in GTMO and I did observe aggressive interrogation practices and as a Behavioral Analysis Advisor on interrogation techniques was aware of extreme interrogation techniques that were planned and implemented against certain detainees. These events were summarized in memos and an EC written by myself and my colleagues between Oct and May of 2002 (DOJFBI001690).

 

(FBI003) I’ve been here 2 weeks today and have tagged along and observed approximately 12 interviews. The common theme seems to be the detainees are all extremely frustrated about being asked the same questions, over and over again, by different interrogators. Once the projects [the assignment of detainees to FBI] are initiated, that should resolve itself. Most of the detainees I’ve observed have been uncooperative and untruthful and some refuse to speak (DOJFBI001428).

 

(FBI005) The interview and interrogation went from approximately 8 00 a.m. to 5 00 p.m. (DOJFBI001765).

 

(FBI019) [REDACTED] complained of losing his memory and being subjected to mental torture far greater than what he would experience in [REDACTED] if arrested in those countries for the same reason (DOJFBI003400).

 

(FBI033) [REDACTED] identified stress as the cause of his exaggerations and fabrications (DOJFBI003319).

 

(FBI035) [REDACTED] replied “you have subjected me to mental stress for 8 days, why should I talk to you.” SA [REDACTED] replied that it was in his best interests (DOJFBI003358).

 

(FBI044) From [REDACTED] (IR)(FBI) | Sent Monday August 2 2004 2 40 PM | To (INSD) (FBI) | Subject RE GTMO | I was situated in the observation booth in between two interview rooms, observing an interview which included at least one FBI SA, and possibly a colleague of his from one of the other agencies with investigative personnel assigned there at the time The booth was quite crowded because there were several individuals present who were observing an “interview” in the room on the other side of the booth In that room, the detainee was seated in a chair and was secured in the same method as I’d seen for all of the other detainees, shackled at his feet so that he could not leave the room However, there wasn’t much talking going on, because the lights had been turned off and a strobe light was flickering on and off, and loud rock music was being played I estimate that this went on for 30 to 60 minutes I was told by quite a few FBI personnel that tactics such as this were quite common there at the time This was the only such event that I observed directly (DOJFBI002036 or DOJFBI002942 or Responses, Part III, 173).

 

(FBI045) On Friday 07/09/2004 and Monday 07/12/2004, emails were sent to Bureau personnel who served in any capacity at GTMO, requesting any observation of aggressive mistreatment of detainees There were a total of 530 personnel who were identified and sent the email As of Tuesday, 07/13/2004 morning, there have been 163 responses received There have been 14 employees who have identified themselves as observing some sort of mistreatment, but unsure if this was within DOD interview guidelines The majority of these “positive” responses have stated detainees were subjected to “strobe lights” aimed at their face, cold interview rooms and extremely loud music Others have documented their observations in EC format I will continue to provide updates as the results come in (DOJFBI002125).

 

(FBI053) On several occasions, I did hear loud music being played and people yelling loudly from behind closed doors of interview rooms but I could not say that detainees were present in those rooms. I also observed strobe lights in interview rooms on several occasions but never observed those being used on detainees (DOJFBI002959).

 

(FBI054) Department of Defense (DoD) Interrogation Tactics | BAU [= Behavioral Analysis Unit] personnel witnessed sleep deprivation the use of duct tape on an individual’s mouth, and utilization of loud music / bright lights / growling dogs in the Detainee interview process by DoD representatives. These tactics were brought tot [sic] the attention of the appropriate DoD legal personnel who requested that BAU members write out “statements” concerning these matters (DOJFBI003583 or DOJFBI003045).

 

(FBI055) Detainee Interviews (Abusive Interrogation Issues) | In late 2002 and continuing into mid-2003, the Behavioral Analysis Unit raised concerns over interrogation tactics being employed by the U.S. Military. As a result, an EC dated 5/30/03, was generated summarizing the FBI’s continued objections to the use of SERE (Search, Escape, Resistance, and Evasion) techniques to interrogate prisoners. (DOJFBI003178).

 

(FBI057) [Detainee] [REDACTED] related he has not been sleeping well and that he was “crazy”. | [REDACTED] advised he was taking his medicine twice a day with his meals. A review of his medical records at Camp Delta revealed he was diagnosed with post traumatic stress syndrome and depression. [REDACTED] was having nightmares about being beaten (DOJFBI003324).

 

(FBI064) [REDACTED] said that he was finished and was unwilling to answer any more questions. He also said he was tired of telling his story so many times. Discrepancies in his story were bound to occur because of the pressure and stress he is under (DOJFBI003310).

 

(FBI076) Therefore, the next 'Air Flow,' ie -new detainees brought to GTMO from Afghanistan, is now projected for sometime within the 11/02-10/2002 time frame. The[re] will be between 20 and 34 new detainees on the flight. We strongly suggested total isolation for as long as possible for these individuals to keep them away from the 'veterans' until all available information is obtained from them (DOJFBI003513).

 

(FBI079) I’ve met with the BISC (Biscuit) [= Behavioral Science Consultation Team] people several times and found them to be a great resource. They know everything thats going on with each detainee, who they’re talking to, who the leaders are, etc. I’ve encouraged the interview teams to meet with them prior to doing their interviews (DOJFBI003596).

 

(FBI081) Based on Rumsfeld’s public statements, DoD [= Department of Defense] is against hooding prisoners, threats of violence and techniques meant to humiliating detainees (there is a list of these I have seen). I know these techniques were approved at high levels within DoD and used on [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] (DOJFBI003592).

 

(FBI082) [REDACTED] slammed his head against his cell door in an attempt to injure himself. [REDACTED] was unconscious for a short period of time and received stitches on his forehead […] [REDACTED] was asked about a scar on his right arm. He replied that it was the result of a suicide attempt, which he claimed was one of several since his incarceration at Camp Delta (DOJFBI001773-DOJFBI001774).

 

(FBI088) July 14, 2004 | Major General Donald J. Ryder | Department of the Army | Criminal Investigation Command | 6010 6th Street | Fort Belvour, Virginia 22060-5506 | Re: Suspected Mistreatment of Detainees | Dear General Ryder: | I appreciate the opportunity I had to meet with you last week. As part of a follow up on our discussion on detainee treatment, I would like to alert you to three situations observed by agents of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) of highly aggressive interrogation techniques being used against detainees in Guantanamo (GTMO). I refer them to you for appropriate action. | […] 3. In September or October of 2002 FBI agents observed that a canine was used in an aggressive manner to intimidate detainee [REDACTED] and, in November 2002, FBI agents observed Detainee [REDACTED] after he had been subjected to intense isolation for over three months. During that time period, [REDACTED] was totally isolated (with the exception of occasional interrogations) in a cell that was always flooded with light By late November, the detainee was evidencing behavior consistent with extreme psychological trauma (talking to non-existent people, reporting hearing voices, crouching in a corner of the cell covered with a sheet for hours on end) It is unknown to the FBI whether such extended isolation was approved by appropriate DoD authorities […] | Sincerely yours, | T J Harrington | Deputy Assistant Director | Counterterrorism Division (DOJFBI001914-DOJFBI001916. See also DOJFBI002181, FBI039, FBI041, and FBI087).

 

(FBI093) [REDACTED] did witness aggressive treatment, interrogations or interview techniques employed on detainees at GTMO inconsistent with FBI or DOJ policy/guidelines on two occasions. The first incident occurred with detainee number [REDACTED] and the second incident occurred with an unknown detainee. | When [REDACTED] arrived at GTMO, number [REDACTED] was incarcerated in a darkened cell in the Naval Brig. [REDACTED] told [REDACTED] he planned to have military personnel interrogate number [REDACTED] for 24 hours in an attempt to get him to cooperate. When [REDACTED] objected to this technique, [REDACTED] said the technique had been approved by "the Secretary" who [REDACTED] understood to be Secretary Rumsfeld. After some discussion and input from [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] the decision was made to provide number [REDACTED] with food since he had been on a self induced fast for a few days. Number [REDACTED] did eat the food, but still refused to provide any information during his interrogation. He was subsequently moved to a plywood interrogation hut in Camp X-Ray. While in Camp X-Ray, number [REDACTED] was aggressively interrogated by military reservists at the direction of [REDACTED]. During the interrogation, the reservists yelled and screamed at number [REDACTED]. Additionally, a German Shepard [sic] was positioned at the door of the interrogation hut and made to growl and bark at the detainee. At one point, one of the interrogators placed a Koran in front of number [REDACTED] while number [REDACTED] was seated in a chair. The interrogator then straddled the Koran, at which point the detainee became very angry, but still refused to provide any information. | Late one evening, [REDACTED] witnessed a second incident which involved a detainee who had been duct taped. [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] were in an observation room, located between two interrogation rooms, watching military personnel conduct an interrogation. At some point, [REDACTED] entered the room and told [REDACTED] to come with him as he wanted to show him something. [REDACTED] accompanied [REDACTED] to another observation room, located down the hall, where several Military Police were observing an interrogation. When he entered the observation room, [REDACTED] observed an unknown detainee with a full head of hair and a beard whose head was wrapped in duct tape in the adjacent interrogation room. There were two interrogators in the room with the detainee. [REDACTED] asked [REDACTED] if the detainee had been spitting at the interrogators or exhibiting belligerent behavior toward them. [REDACTED] replied no, and then told [REDACTED] the detainee's head had been duct taped because he would not stop quoting the Koran. [REDACTED] did not approve of the treatment of the detainee and asked [REDACTED] how he planned to remove the duct tape, but [REDACTED] never answered him. [REDACTED] then exited the observation room and returned to his quarters. | Based on the conversations with [REDACTED] [REDACTED] believed Department of Defense authorization for the permitted use of harsh/aggressive interrogation techniques may have come from Secretary Rumsfeld. On several occasions when [REDACTED] questioned [REDACTED] about the techniques utilized, [REDACTED] said it had been approved by "the Secretary", who [REDACTED] understood to be Secretary Rumsfeld. […] SSA [REDACTED] believed [REDACTED] had the authority to approve interrogation techniques, including the use of the duct tape on the unknown detainee [REDACTED]s comments (Responses, Part I, 36-38).

 

(FBI094) From: [REDACTED] (CV)(FBI) | Sent: Wednesday, July 14, 2004 2:17 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: GTMO | I was TDY [= Temporary Duty Assignment] to GTMO from the dates of June 2, 2003 to July 17, 2004. During that time I did not observe aggressive treatment, interrogations or interview techniques which was not consistent with Bureau interview policy/guidelines by the FBI personnel or the interrogators from FT. Belvoir consisting of Air Force OSI, Naval Investigative Service and possibly a few other services although I can't recall which ones. However, I do recall seeing some techniques utilized by other interrogators not associated with the FBI or the Ft. Belvoir interrogators. I occasionally saw sleep depravation [sic] interviews with strobe lights and two different kinds of loud music. I asked the one [sic] of the interrogators what they were doing they said that it would take approximately four days to break someone doing an interrogation 16 hours on with the lights and music and four hours off. The sleep depravation [sic] and the lights and alternating beats of the music would wear the detainee down. There was a time period where the interrogations were obtrusive enough that the interview rooms for an entire trailer were not available if one of these techniques were being utilized. | I heard many rumors about things that I did not observe. I spoke with one interrogator (not sure if military or contractor or other) that bragged about doing a lap dance on one Detainee (possibly # [REDACTED]). Another interrogator (not sure if military or contractor or other) bragged about making Detainee # [REDACTED] listen to satanic black metal music for hours and hours. Then the interrogator dressed as a Catholic Priest and baptized the detainee in order to save him (Responses, Part I, 44).

(FBI095) [REDACTED] was assigned to GTMO in the position of interviewer/interrogator for 45 days from 06/02/2003 to 07/17/2003, as part of a "Special Projects" team which consisted of FBI SA [REDACTED] (Charlotte Division) and a task force officer whose name he could not recall. | [REDACTED] did not witness or observe aggressive treatment, interrogations or interview techniques utilized on GTMO detainees conducted by FBI or other law enforcement personnel which were not consistent with FBI or DOJ policy/guidelines, but did observe such behavior by non-law enforcement Department of Defense (DOD) personnel on at least two occasions. On these occasions the DOD personnel utilized sleep depravation [sic] by playing load [sic] music for 16 hours at a time with four hours between sessions. [REDACTED] and others brought these instances to attention of SSA [= Supervising Special Agent] [REDACTED] who was his Acting Supervisor (Atlanta Division) at GTMO. | […] During conversations with unidentified DOD employees regarding interview techniques, [REDACTED] recalled being asked if he used "fear up" or "family compassion" techniques. […] The aggressive interviews [REDACTED] witnessed occurred at Camp Delta in either the Yellow, Brown, or Gold areas. Most interviews conducted by law enforcement and DOD personnel occurred in interview rooms located in trailers in these areas. Often DOD personnel would reserve an entire trailer when employing aggressive interview techniques (Responses, Part I, 45).

 

(FBI096) However, although Writer did not observe any maltreatment of detainees, Writer does recall hearing about a rumor, wherein a male unsub[ordinate?] detainee was purportedly dressed in female clothing, make-up applied, and involuntarily given a lap dance by a female prison guard, either at the direction or personal performance of Military Interrogators [REDACTED] Writer further recalls that the above noted incident was conveyed as a tactic which would result in the breakdown and eventual cooperation of the detainee […] On 09/07/2004, INVESTIGATIVE ANALYST (IA) [REDACTED] […] heard a rumor about a male detainee being dressed in female clothing with make-up applied, who was given an involuntary lap dance from a female prison guard at the direction of military interrogators [REDACTED]. The rumor indicated this was a tactic used to break the detainee down and gain his cooperation (Responses, Part I, 50f and 53f).

 

(FBI106) From May 12, 2003 to June 26, 2003, Special Agent (SA) [REDACTED] FBI Denver, served a TDY at GTMO. On one occasion during the final two weeks of this TDY, SA [REDACTED] observed two other unknown individuals from an unknown other government agency conducting an interview with a detainee utilizing techniques that were not consistent with FBI interview policy/guidelines. SA [REDACTED], FBI Seattle was also present and witnessed this same incident. | The interviewing techniques that were observed by SA [REDACTED] involved the two unknown interviewers from an unknown other government agency sitting a detainee down on the floor [shackled?] in the center of an interview room, while rap type music was being played at a very high volume using a portable Radio/CD player, and while the interviewers smoked cigars and blew the smoke from these cigars towards the face of the detainee, and continuously laughed at the detainee. These interview techniques were seen by SA [REDACTED] and SA [REDACTED] through one-way glass in an adjacent room to the interview room and were observed for a few minutes prior to SA [REDACTED] and SA [REDACTED] vacating the area due to their interview session with another detainee being completed. SA [REDACTED] did not observe any direct physical contact between the interviewers and the detainee in this incident […] It is believed that these two interviewers may have been from either the Defense Humint Services, the Defense Intelligence Agency, or contracted in some fashion through the US Army (Responses, Part III, 178f).

(FBI107) From: [REDACTED] (SE)(FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 2:24 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Subject: GTMO | In response to the request for information regarding treatment of detainees at GTMO: | I served a TDY at GTMO from early June to mid July 2003. On one occasion I witnessed interview techniques that I believe were not consistent with FBI interview policy or guidelines. Sometime in mid to late June I viewed an interrogation through one way glass being conducted in an adjacent interview room. I witnessed a detainee seated in the middle of the floor [shackled?] while loud rap or heavy metal music was being played from a portable CD player. Two interrogators were standing above the detainee and continuously laughing and blowing cigar smoke in the detainee's face. While the identities of the interrogators is unknown, I believe that they were associated with Defense Humint Services or contracted by the US Army (Responses, Part III, 204).[ix]

(FBI110) From: [REDACTED] (KX)(FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 4:25 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: RE: GTMO | I was TDY to GTMO from 9/25/03 - 11/11/03 | The only matter which may be relevant that I observed was: | (Date Unknown, possibly Oct/Nov timeframe) SA [REDACTED] and myself were at Camp Delta, in the (Gold Trailer, I believe) Interview/Interrogation trailer. We heard loud music coming from the right far rear of one of the interview/interrogation rooms and proceeded to enter the observation booth in between rooms. The lights were off in the Interview/Interrogation room but there was a strobe light on with loud music inside and a clothed detainee sitting on the floor, no one else was in the room. An unknown white male in civilian clothing entered the observation room we were in and told us we should not be there. SA [REDACTED] and myself exited the room. Does this constitute aggressive treatment and warrant a follow-up interview by you? (Responses, Part III, 202).[x]

 

(FBI116) From: [REDACTED] (CTD)(FBI) | Sent: Monday, July 12, 2004 3:22 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: GTMO | I was TDY at GTMO from 07/16/2003 - 09/02/2003 and again from 10/28/2003 - 11/18/2003. During the period of 07/16 - 09/02/2003, on one occasion I witnessed a detainee in an interview room who was subjected to loud music and strobe lights. I witnessed this while walking past the room on my way to another interview. I do not recall the exact date or the time this occurred. There were no FBI personnel in the room with the loud music and strobe lights (Responses, Part IV, 220).[xi]

 

(FBI117) From: [REDACTED] (CTD)(FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 31, 2004 11:06 AM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: RE: GTMO INTERVIEWS | I was deployed to GTMO on the following dates listed: 02/13/03 to 03/18/03, 07/17/03 to 09/02/03, 05/31/04 to 07/02/04 […] I did not witness any aggressive behavior or interview techniques being used on GTMO detainees that is not consistent with Bureau policy. However, during the second deployment, 07/17/03 to 09/02/03, I observed a detainee being exposed to loud music and a strobe light during an interrogation. I do not recall the date that this took place, the detainee's name, or who was interrogating the detainee. I saw what was going on at approximately 10:00am and I believe the detainee was referred to as the poison man due to his knowledge of chemical and biological weapons (Responses, Part IV, 221).[xii]

 

(FBI119) From: [REDACTED] (IR)(FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 9:20 AM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Cc: [REDACTED] (IR)(FBI) | Subject: RE: GTMO | I was assigned to GTMO from July 17, 2003 - August 7, 2003. I'm a member of CIRG's Behavioral Analysis Unit and our function was to observe interviews of detainees and provide interview strategies as needed. During my tenure there, I never personally witnessed agressive [sic] treatment, interrogations or interview techniques on GTMO detainees. I did hear loud music being played and people yelling loudly from behind closed doors of interview rooms but I could not say they were yelling at detainees. I also observed strobe lights in interview rooms on a number of occasions but never observed those being used on detainees. […] There were also accusations that the Military would present themselves as FBI Agents to detainees and harass them but that was never personally observed by me (Responses, Part IV, 242. See also FBI053).

 

(FBI120) Respondent's official Bureau name and title is S. [REDACTED] Special Agent […]. Tenure of assignment at GTMO was March 3, 2003 through April 15, 2003. | […] On two or three occasions, during regularly scheduled interviews, detainees advised me that they had been subjected to loud music to keep them awake and had been shown pornographic photos in an effort to upset them. I have no knowledge that these activities were done by FBI employees and was under the impression that these were techniques used by Department of Defense (DOD) contract interviewers. This was common knowledge among FBI employees and it was a topic as I recall that was discussed at staff meetings because it was sometimes detrimental to our efforts of attempting to establish rapport with detainees. I also recall that translators (who worked with both FBI and DOD interviewers) also confirmed the allegations of the detainees regarding sleep deprivation (Responses, Part IV, 247f).

 

(FBI121) From: [REDACTED] (CG)(FBI) | Sent: Tuesday, July 13, 2004 2:17 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Cc: [REDACTED] (CG)(FBI) | Subject: GTMO Inspection Special Inquiry | […] I will include the following observations and allow the Inspection Division to determine if it falls under the desired criteria: | A detainee was led into an interview room by hooded MPs. The detainee was also hooded and the hood was removed by the MPs for the interview. This procedure was not under our direction. This happened on two occasions. | In an interview trailer, I observed an interview room with flashing lights and loud music coming through and under a door. I did not observe any individuals inside as the solid door was closed. I observed this only once (Responses, Part IV, 253).

 

(FBI124) I was on TDY assignment to GTMO, Cuba for the Military Detainee Liaison Unit (MDLU) from September 1, 2003 through November 11, 2003. […] During my assignment at GTMO I received a briefing from the military personnel assigned to operations at GTMO, that noncooperative detainees could be placed on a list for a specific interrogation technique called the "frequent flyer program." With this particular technique, identified detainees were moved frequently from cell block to cell block at intervals that appeared to be every hour or every two hours depending on the shifts and availability of military personnel to move the detainee. Detainees were moved along with all of their personal belongings. Due to the movement to different cells the detainees had their sleep interrupted throughout a 24 hour period. The duration of the program for particular detainees seemed to depend on the cooperativeness of the detainee. I did not participate in this program and do not know of any participation of FBI personnel in recommending detainees to this program. I did observe on the detainee movement database, some detainees were on the movement records, moving approximately every hour or every two hours. I do not recall the names of these detainees (Responses, Part IV, 260f).

 

See also FBI026, FBI043, FBI041, FBI048, FBI080, FBI091, FBI103, FBI109, FBI112, FBI113, FBI114.

 

 

Age Abuse

 

N/A

 

 

Religious Abuse

 

(FBI008) Personally, he [the detainee] has nothing against the United States. The guards in the detention facility do not treat him well. Their behavior is bad. About five months ago, the guards beat the detainees. They flushed a Koran in the toilet […] The guards dance around when the detainees are trying to pray. The guards still do these things (DOJFBI003233-DOJFBI003235).

 

(FBI018) [REDACTED] was informed [that] SA [REDACTED] was able to convince the Commanding General to allow the interviewing agent to return the Koran to [REDACTED]. In reality, a Department of Defense order from the Secretary of Defense mandated all detainees, regardless of reward level, would have a Koran which could not be taken away. In an effort to use this to his advantage, the interviewing agent made it appear as if he was able to win back for [REDACTED]. For effect, a Koran was sitting on the table (DOJFBI003367).

 

(FBI038) Moreover [REDACTED] continued, an incident in the camp yesterday, which cause[d] some areas of the camp to be locked down, was based on the guard’s abuse of the Koran. As a result of this incident and what [REDACTED] claimed were the resulting beatings and further mishandling of the Koran, he was going to shut-down and refuse to talk at all […] [REDACTED] subsequently responded and conveyed the following claim. Yesterday, the detainees were removed from their cells for physical exercise. When they returned, they found that their Korans, which had been removed earlier, had been returned by the guards. [REDACTED] stated that it was an abuse of the Koran for non-believers to handle the Koran. [REDACTED] continued that they would much rather have them all removed than have them handled by the guards (DOJFBI003438).

 

(FBI049) [REDACTED] stated that he was put in an isolation cell after he was involved in a dispute over food given to him. [REDACTED] stated that he is unable to eat certain foods, and was placed in isolation after arguing with a guard (DOJFBI002307 or DOJFBI003209 or Responses, Part III, 166).

 

(FBI059) [REDACTED] stated that one of the guards at Camp Delta recently removed his prayer cap from his head and threw it in the trash for no apparent reason. [He] does not think it to be religiously proper to use this cap again (DOJFBI003892).

 

(FBI065) He does not like how the detainees are being treated at Camp Delta, saying the strip searches are humiliating and the food is bad (DOJFBI003311).

 

(FBI086) He commented that the older guards are usually very nice and the younger ones cause a lot of the problems. They often disgrace the Koran by throwing it on the cell floor and frequently use profanity which many of the detainees find extremely offensive (DOJFBI032320).

 

(FBI069) [REDACTED] subsequently stated that he and his brothers opposed the searches that they were put through on the grounds that they violated their religious beliefs […] the detainee’s religious beliefs were violated in Camp Delta (DOJFBI003339).

 

(FBI072) He said he would rather have died [REDACTED] than to have his religion treated with the disrespect he has seen here. He said if he ever leaves this camp, it will be with a very bad opinion of Americans. He referred to guards mistreating the Qu’ran. He was told some of that might be a legitimate need to search the book for hidden items, such as a Muslim guard would do with the holy book of another religion held by a prisoner. But he described guards throwing the book down on the floor […] he said he was convinced all Americans are that way (DOJFBI003351).

 

(FBI074) He stated that a lot of the brothers were still upset about the detainee who had attempted suicide six days earlier. Several of the brothers were still saying that he was beaten by the guards […] [REDACTED] stated the issues regarding the Koran led to this. It was just a matter of time before something like this occurred. He commented that the Koran should not be used as a form of punishment. Also, the searching of the Koran needs to be looked into. The guards need to be made aware of how they are humiliating the Koran (DOJFBI003436).

 

(FBI091) [REDACTED] did witness aggressive treatment, interrogations or interview techniques employed on detainees at GTMO inconsistent with FBI or DOJ policy/guidelines. The incident involved detainee number [REDACTED] | When [REDACTED] arrived in GTMO, number [REDACTED] was incarcerated in a darkened cell in the Naval Brig […] On 10/03/2002, number [REDACTED] was transported from the Naval Brig to Camp Delta, at which point he was fed, and interrogated by an interrogation team, however he failed to provide any substantive information. Later that same evening, number [REDACTED] was transported to Camp X-Ray where he was placed in a plywood hut and interrogated by another military interrogation team until the early morning hours of 10/04/2002. [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] returned to their quarters. During the late afternoon hours of 10/04/2004 [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] returned to observe the interrogation of number [REDACTED]. [REDACTED] advised the Koran had been placed in front of number [REDACTED] and Captain [REDACTED], United States Marine Corp, began to interrogate the detainee. At some point during the interrogation, Captain [REDACTED] squatted over the Koran, which incensed number [REDACTED] and caused him to reach for the Koran. While [REDACTED] did not observe the incident, he was nearby when it occurred, heard the yelling, and went to the hut to learn what happened. [REDACTED] was then told what occurred. [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] then returned to their quarters. On 10/05/2002, a German Shepherd was placed in front of number [REDACTED] while his handler commanded the dog to growl, bark, and show his teeth. [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] were displeased with the interrogation techniques utilized on number [REDACTED] and decided to depart Camp X-Ray. They were never again in the presence of number [REDACTED]. [REDACTED] believed the interrogation of number [REDACTED] concluded on 10/08/2002. | Approximately two weeks after the aforementioned incident, [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] were at Camp Delta in an observation room which was located between two interrogation rooms. [REDACTED] was observing one interrogation while [REDACTED] was observing another interrogation when [REDACTED] entered the observation room. [REDACTED] was laughing and he told [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] he wanted to show them something. [REDACTED] accompanied [REDACTED] while [REDACTED] remained in the observation room. [REDACTED] later told [REDACTED] that [REDACTED] had taken him to an interrogation room where he observed a detainee with a full beard whose head had been wrapped in duct tape. Shortly thereafter, [REDACTED] and [REDACTED] departed GTMO (Responses, Part I, 25f).

 

(FBI100) SA [= Special Agent] [REDACTED] heard through the person placed in charge of law enforcement agency personnel at GITMO that other government agencies were using female military personnel in psychological operations-type activities against the detainees. The person in charge […] told SA [REDACTED] that in an effort to disrupt detainees who were praying during interrogations, female military intelligence personnel would wet their hands [with a blood-like liquid?] then touch the detainee's face, causing the detainee to stop praying because he considered himself unclean. SA [REDACTED] did not witness this technique or anything similar to it, performed on a detainee. | […] SA [REDACTED] was only aware of the technique of wetting of the hands from his conversation with the person placed in charge of law enforcement agency personnel (Responses, Part II, 71).

 

See also FBI014, FBI026,FBI039, FBI041, FBI048, FBI056, FBI087, FBI093, FBI094.

 

 

National/Ethnic Abuse

 

(FBI043) From [REDACTED] (OM)(FBI) | Sent Friday, July 30, 2004 1 56 PM | To [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Subject RE GTMO | Following a detainee interview exact date unknown, while leaving the interview building at Camp Delta at approximately 8 30 p m or later, I heard and observed in the hallway loud music and flashes of light I walked from the hallway into the open door of a monitoring room to see what was going on From the monitoring room, I looked inside the adjacent interview room At that time I saw another detainee sitting on the floor of the interview room with an Israeli flag draped around him, loud music being played and a strobe light flashing. I left the monitoring room immediately after seeing this activity. I did not see any other persons inside the interview room with the Israeli flag draped detainee, but suspect that this was a practice used by DOD DHS [= Defense Human Intelligence Service] since the only other persons inside the hallway near this particular interview room were dressed in green military fatigues similar to the ones worn by DoD DHS and the DOD MP Uniformed Reservists At no time did I observe any physical assaults take place of this detainee nor any others while assigned to GTMO (DOJFBI002029 or Responses, Part III, 188, where the following hand-written annotation is found: "No | consistent w/DoD policy. Israeli flag over the top but not abusive." Also, at Responses III, 194, an email from Valerie Caproni (OGC)(FBI) from Aug 16 2004, 3:01PM reads: "No further interview necessary. Loud music and strobe light would be within the notion of 'environment down' that is an approved technique for DoD. The Israeli flag, though obnoxious, doesn't seem to change the basic technique into one that would be unlawfully abusive").

 

See also FBI080.

 

 

Verbal Abuse

 

See FBI26, FBI48, FBI86.

 

 

Unspecified Abuse

 

(FBI007) [REDACTED] does not consider the U.S. an enemy of Islam. He is of the opinion that the U.S. believes in justice, although he feels justice is not being done in his case. [REDACTED] complained that he is being treated worse by his American jailers than he was when he was jailed by the Taliban (DOJFBI003196).

 

(FBI020) [REDACTED] said that several interrogators have mistreated detainees, but the FBI has not mistreated any detainee (DOJFBI003414).

 

(FBI042) From: [REDACTED] (INSD) (FBI) | Sent Tuesday, August 17, 2004 9 42 AM | To: Harrington T J (CTD) (FBI) | […] As you are aware, an email was sent out to all personnel who had served in any capacity at GTMO since 9/11/2001. This email required personnel to respond to INSD [= Inspections Division] and advise if they observed any aggressive treatment of detainees by either DoD or FBI personnel […] | There were 530 employees who have served in some capacity at GTMO and were notified by e-mail. 478 have responded. Some employees have since retired and others were contractors no longer employed with the Bureau. Of the 478 responses, there 26 employees who stated they observed what was believed to be some form of mistreatment These 26 employees provided summaries of what they actually observed There were no observations of mistreatment by FBI personnel. | The 26 summaries were provided to General Counsel Caproni, who reviewed each and ascertained that nine of the respondees would require a followup interview The remaining 17 were deemed to be appropriate DoD approved interrogation techniques (DOJFBI002027. See also DOJFBI002040, where only 464 respondents are mentioned, 23 of whom “confirmed they personally observed aggressive treatment by interrogators or GTMO staff”).

 

(FBI051) I am responding to your request for feedback on aggressive treatment and improper interview techniques used on detainees at GTMO [...] I did observe treatment that was not only aggressive, but personally very upsetting […] It seemed that these techniques were being employed by the military, government contract employees and [REDACTED]. My name is SA [REDACTED], Boston Division, EOD [REDACTED] currently assigned to Squad C-9 telephone [REDACTED] (DOJFBI002346).

 

(FBI052) Of concern, DOD interrogators impersonating Supervisory Special Agents of the FBI told a detainee that [REDACTED]. These same interrogation teams then [REDACTED]. The detainee was also told by this interrogation team [REDACTED]. | These tactics have produced no intelligence of a threat neutralization nature to date and CITF [= Criminal Investigative Task Force] believes that techniques have destroyed any chance of prosecuting this detainee. | If this detainee is ever released or his story made public in any way, DOD interrogators will not be held accountable because these torture techniques [emphasis added] were done [by] the “FBI” interrogators. The FBI will be left holding the bag before the public (DOJFBI002442).

 

(FBI063) He denied using any weapons while in Afghanistan. he recanted his earlier statements that he fired an assault rifle once while in Afghanistan, saying the original statement was coerced (DOJFBI003303).

 

(FBI066) [REDACTED] refuted that information, claiming he was coerced into making that claim (DOJFBI003315).

 

(FBI068) [REDACTED] said other interrogators mistreated him and that he did not talk to them (DOJFBI003331).

 

(FBI071) [REDACTED] took the attitude at the beginning of the interview that he was not going to answer questions because of mistreatment of his brother Muslims in the camp (DOJFBI003344).

 

(FBI077) There are several examples in which DHS [= Defense Human Intelligence Service] personnel have awaited the departure of an FBI supervisor before embarking on aggressive, unilateral interrogation which they knew would not have been endorsed by the FBI (DOJFBI003528 and DOJFBI003591).

 

(FBI090) From: [REDACTED](IR)(FBI) | Sent: Friday, July 09, 2004 3:42PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Cc: Fedarcyk, Janice K. (IR)(FBI) […] | Subject: RE: GTMO E-Mail | Per the recent FBIHQ e-mail request, be advised that during my GTMO tenure, I did witness aggressive treatment, interview/interrogation technique(s), etc. of Detainees by non-Bureau personnel, CIRG's 11/22/2002 Electronic communication to FBIHQ (265A-MM-C99102, serial 724) details some of these observations (Responses, Part I, 20).

 

(FBI098) From [REDACTED] (CTD)(FBI) | Sent: Wednesday, July 14, 2004 2:38 PM | To: [REDACTED] (INSD)(FBI) | Subject: RE: GTMO | […] I would be happy to sit down with you and walk you through what I saw as the predictable onset of aggressive treatment, interrogations or interview techniques (Responses, Part II, 60).

 

(FBI104) As a member of the National Center for the Analysis of Violent Crime (NCAVC) in the Critical Incident Response Group (CIRG), I was assigned to a tour at GTMO from July 2-24, 2003. While there, I provided interview/interrogation advice to FBI SAs who were involved in ongoing interactions with detainees. I directly observed 14 interviews with 12 detainees. During one of these interviews (I am not sure which one at this time), I observed treatment of another detainee by a different interview team which included tactics that, while not overtly aggressive, were clearly not consistent with Bureau interview policy/guidelines (Responses, Part III, 174).

 

 

Abuse while en route to Guantánamo

 

(FBI001) He indicated that he was able to push himself back to the building and seek shelter in the basement. After several days in the basement, everyone surrendered and they were taken, in large metal containers, to Shebergan by Dostum’s Forces. Just prior to the Kala Jengi prison uprising, [REDACTED] indicated that he did observe Dostum’s Forces shooting injured men who were still alive […] He was then taken to Kandahar via airplane and then to Guantanamo Bay, Cuba (DOJFBI001759).

 

(FBI009) [W]hen [REDACTED] was turned over to US authorities, he was beaten by the US military forces. [REDACTED] was turned over to US authorities [REDACTED]. He was taken by helicopter to an unknown location where he was beaten. While his eyes were covered, he was kicked in the stomach and back by several individuals. He noted American English accents. After being moved to an unknown facility in Bagram, his head was placed against the cement floor and his head was kicked. As a result of other beatings in Bagram, [REDACTED] received a broken shoulder. During one evening [REDACTED] was left outside of the facility where he was being held. The ground was wet and it was snowing. He was wearing only pants and a ragged shirt. As a result of being out in the cold, he became unconscious. . . . . When he was moved to Kandahar, he was not beaten as frequently and severely. Periodically, [REDACTED] was kicked and pushed. He was dragged three times to interrogations. On one occasion during prayer time, a soldier placed his foot on [REDACTED] head and sat on his head [REDACTED] stated that the soldiers wore tan and brown camouflage uniforms, with US flags on their arms (DOJFBI003236).

 

(FBI010) [REDACTED] explained that during his detention by the US military in Kandahar, Afghanistan, he was beaten by some guards as he was lying face down on the ground. He stated that he was not resisting, and was beaten for apparently no reason. [REDACTED] further stated that there were other guards that treated him very well. (DOJFBI003238).

 

(FBI022) [REDACTED] explained that during his detention by the U.S. military in Kandahar, Afghanistan, he was beaten by some guards as he was lying face down on the ground. He stated that he was not resisting, and was beaten for apparently no reason. [REDACTED] further stated that there were other guards that treated him very well (DOJFBI003429).

 

(FBI024) [REDACTED] claimed he was beaten, hit in the head with a rifle and threatened with being shot by the American soldiers while he was in Mazer-e-Sharif and Kandahar (DOJFBI003443).

 

(FBI027) [REDACTED] was captured by Dostum’s troops. He was put into a container with approximately 200 other prisoners. They were transported in this container for delivery to U.S. forces. When they were released only eight people survived the journey (DOJFBI003227).

 

(FBI028) [REDACTED] when he was shot by the NA [= Northern Alliance?]. [REDACTED] was shot in his right shoulder (this wound was exhibited to investigator). He was taken to a house and was tortured for two (2) days. [REDACTED] was not afforded treatment for his wound. He was taken to another house where he was again tortured and repeatedly ordered to admit he was Al’Queda [sic] and had met USAMA BIN LADEN (UBL). [REDACTED] finally admitted he was Al’Queda and had met UBL and then his wound was treated. [REDACTED] was taken to a third house for one (1) day and then transferred to a hospital where he was briefly treated. He was then transferred to a fourth house [REDACTED] There were an additional fourteen to fifteen prisoners in that house. [REDACTED] remained at that house [REDACTED] until he was turned over to American forces and transported via aircraft to the Kandahar prison. While in Kandahar, [REDACTED] again admitted to being trained by AL’Queda and meeting UBL (DOJFBI003248).

 

(FBI029) [H]e was detained by Northern Alliance forces and housed in a Kandahar, Afghanistan 'jail.' [REDACTED] advised he was detained for approximately two weeks at this location. During his detention he advised he observed the Northern Alliance guards randomly select detainees on a nightly basis and remove them from their cell. [REDACTED] advised the guards would then commence beating the detainee with sticks, chains and in some cases kicking the individual while on the ground. [REDACTED] advised on one occasion, a Pakistani jihad fighter was removed from his cell by the guards, then beaten to death (DOJFBI003265).

 

(FBI036) [REDACTED] then asked about torture saying that several detainees have claimed that they were tortured in Bagram and saying that he heard one or two have been killed. [REDACTED] was never tortured nor has he seen anyone tortured (DOJFBI003371).

 

(FBI075) [From a document summarizing FBI investigation, in Afghanistan, of 1300 prisoners detained by the Northern Alliance in Sherberghan Prison for possible transport to US custody in Bagram or Guantanamo]: | He was shipped to Sheberghan via container. There were approximately 200 Taliban in his container and 45 died. He believed they died from a lack of oxygen. They were in the container for twenty-four hours and there was not enough air (DOJFBI003467). | After capture, this subject was transported in a container to Sheberghan. Over one hundred guys died in his container due to a lack of oxygen (DOJFBI003466). | [REDACTED] commander was an Afghan named KHADIM (ph.) KHADIM died while in the custody of the Northern Alliance forces while being shipped to the prison location in a shipping container. [REDACTED] stated that there were two-hundred (200) prisoners in the container and that twenty (20) died as the result of the lack of oxygen in the container (DOJFBI003464). | After [REDACTED] surrendered, he was transported directly to Sherberghan in a container. Many persons in his container died from lack of air (DOJFBI003460). | His Commander was MULLAH HANINULLAH, who died in a container during transport. [REDACTED] saw his corpse and maintained that his Commander had not been wounded prior to his death (DOJFBI003456). | [REDACTED] stated that, after his capture, he was transported in a container to Sherberghan Prison. Approximately 46 persons in his container died during transit (DOJFBI003455). | He stated that his COMMANDER in the camp was MULLAH ABDUL AHAD, who died in a container during transport to Sherberghan (DOJFBI003454). | He stated that his Commander was ABDUL SAMET and it was he who ordered [REDACTED] to surrender. [REDACTED] stated that he saw his Commander die in a shipping container as they were transported to Sherberghan (DOJFBI003454). | He said that his Commander was KARIM, whom he had not seen in the prison. He heard that KARIM had died during transport in a container. Several other persons also died in his container as they were transported to Sherberghan (DOJFBI003453). | After his capture [REDACTED] was transported to Sherberghan in a shipping container. Approximately ten people died in his container (DOJFBI003453).

 

See also FBI021, FBI125.

 

 

Notes


[i] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten notes on Responses, Part II, 63, identify this prisoner as an "assoc. of M. Atta" and as "20th hijacker". This would make him be Mohammed Al Qahtani, with ISN 063. See The Interrogation of Prisoner 063, Time Magazine, 2006.

[ii] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding the original decision to consider this statement a positive determination of abuse: "No. No other bruising to suggest he was hit. Looks like conjunctivitis with eye infection rather [than] the result of abuse."

[iii] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessment of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "Environment down | doesn't seem excessive given DoD policy".

[iv] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessment of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No — appears to be psyc ops consistent w/ DoD policy."

[v] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessments of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No — consistent w/ DoD policy."

[vi] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessments of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No — consistent w/ DoD policy."

[vii] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessments of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No | - consistent w/ DoD policy | - not nice, but not abusive | - consistent with DoD policy."

[viii] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin: "Not personally though (rumored [?])".

[ix] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotations on the margin overriding earlier assessments of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No – consistent with DoD policy."

[x] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin, seemingly in reply to the question at the end of this testimony: "No followup required | appears to be psyc ops consistent w/ DoD policy"

[xi] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessments of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No | appears to be DoD approved psyc ops."

[xii] CSHRA NOTE: Handwritten annotation on the margin overriding earlier assessments of this statement as a positive determination of abuse: "No | appears DoD approved psyc ops."


Personal tools